Monday June 20 witnessed the most prestigious of LSU’s awards ceremonies, where the finest individuals and teams in Loughborough were recognised for their outstanding contribution to the student experience.

The Loughborough Experience Awards was attended by over a hundred dedicated students, who had been nominated by their peers, along with the Mayor and senior University staff, including Professor Shirley Pearce CBE.

Along with presenting twelve students individually for their hard work, the LEAs also recognised the efforts of staff, lecturers, and halls.

Jasmine Scott, studying Psychology with Ergonomics , received the prestigious Sir David Wallace Trophy, as the individual deemed to have contributed most to the Loughborough Experience during her time on campus.

Scott, 21, has represented hundreds of thousands of students during her three year spell in Loughborough. She has been Towles Mill Hall Chair, Robert Bakewell Sports Sec and Healthy Living Officer of the Athletic Union Executive for two years, whilst founding the LSU Gospel Choir and being an integral member of LSU Dance. The list could go on.

Scott told Label she was very humbled to receive the accolade.

“I was so grateful just to be nominated, so winning an award is unbelievably amazing.

“It’s been the most amazing end to an amazing three years. I owe everything to the people who inspired me to get involved and to all the people I’ve worked with,” she said.

Scott was amongst twelve students to be individually recognised for their contribution to Loughborough life. The full list is:

Jasmine Scott
George Arnold
Georgia Collins
Peter Dickinson
Georgie Court
Rachel Richardson
Rob Cafferty
Michael Munday
Krishan Solanki
Tom Argyle
Tas Siddeeque
Lara Gray

The glizty and glamorous ceremony in Room One, hosted by Union President Lucy Hopkins and VP Finance Richard Smith, also recognised the work of Halls. Towers received the Andrew Gibson Hall of the Year award, whilst Binoy Sobnack scooped up Warden of the Year.

Other winners on the night included Student Advocates for the Student Voice Award, Action Committee for Team of the Year and the LSUTV Live Production Team, who were presented with the Presidents’ Award from President Elect Rebecca Bridger.

She told Label she thoroughly enjoyed the occasion.

“This was my third Loughborough Experience Awards and they truly do just get better and better every time.

“It is so inspiring and motivating to hear what people at Loughborough University have been getting up to, all volunteer their time to make the Loughborough Experience what it is.”

She added: “A huge thank you to Lucy and Richard Smith. It was an absolutely fantastic night.”

The event was made possible thanks to donations from Barclays Capital and the Loughborough University Development Trust, with the winners getting the award printed on their graduation transcript.


Comments are closed.