The eighth annual Loughborough Experience Awards took place in Room One on the evening of Monday June 18 and saw the hard work of many teams and individuals from across the university recognised for their contribution to the Loughborough Experience.

The Sir David Wallace Trophy, the biggest award of the evening was presented to Rebecca Willison, a Sport and Exercise Science student, by Shirley Pearce, University Vice Chancellor.

Throughout Willison's time at Loughborough, she has been chair of the Hip-Hop society, Sports Action co-ordinator, a member of TSF, AU Exec and a sports development volunteer.

Action Chair elect, Billy Marsh, tweeted “Becca Willison, no one deserved such an award more than her. An amazing individual who has had a massive impact on so many people #LEAs

Rebecca also tweeted soon after receiving her award saying, “Sooo shocked right now!!! Thank you so so much everyone!! #LEAs


Rebecca was one of 12 students to receive a coveted Loughborough Experience Award. The full list of winners is as follows:

Rebecca Willison
Lazar Zindovic
CJ Marlas
Joanna Li
Claud Williams
Renne van Diemen
Kangsheng Liu
Sophie Thomas
Felicity Campbell
Peter Bailey
Peter Hall
Leon White

The work of halls of residence towards the Loughborough Experience was also recognised with the Andrew Gibson Trophy for Hall of the Year being presented to Faraday Hall.

The Warden of the year award was presented to Robert Bakewell’s Laura Justham.

The awards night, one of the most prestigious that Loughborough has to offer, also saw Dr Terry Dovey, a lecturer in Psychology in the School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences being presented with the Lecturer of the Year award.

The Student Voice Advocate team were presented with the Team of the Year award and the work of Media Senate was rewarded with the President’s award.


Comments are closed.