Loughborough collected the 2010/11 BUCS Championship at an awards ceremony last night. Held at Leeds University and featuring Ashes winning England cricketer, Matthew Hoggard MBE, yesterday marked the 31st consecutive year that Loughborough have picked up the trophy.

Loughborough finished the year with 4890.5 points, while Birmingham and Leeds Met Carnegie were second and third, collecting 2830.5 and 2739 points respectively.

Current AU President Ewan Paterson collected the award on Loughborough's behalf. Afterwards he said:

"I am honoured to receive this award and it really means a lot to me to collect this on Loughborough's behalf. I would like to thank all the staff in the AU Office for working so hard all year, our freinds and colleagues in the Sports Development Centre and finally the Loughborough Students who made this great feat possible yet again!"

In the audience was next year's AU President, Adam Rae. When asked about his feelings on taking over from Ewan he said: 

"I'm a little bit daunted becuse Ewan has done such a fantatsic job and will certainly be a hard act to follow. I can't wait to get stuck in and learn all there is to know about the AU.

Other award winners included Loughborough Student, Joey Staniford, who collected the Chris Potter award for his contribution to the BOOST programme. BOOST involves a mixture of coaching and refereeing at both the University and within the local community.

For more in-depth news about this year's championship visit the BUCS website.

Label will be providing continuous coverage throughout 2011/12 on Loughborough's attempt to retain their title.


Comments are closed.