It's awards season in Loughborough and leading the way with arguably the most spectacular and enjoyable evenings was the RAM Awards 2011.

Recognising the work of Action and Media's volunteers, the RAMS welcomed 200 volunteers to Room1 in a Las Vegas themed night, that included casino tables, chocolate poker chips and even a Hangover style video to kick off the night.

Having been well fed by Jom Makan and serenaded by the glorious tones of Iona Thomas and Owen Crane, the guests were treated to a warm and entertaining ceremony, hosted by Head of Media Ben Croucher and Action Chair Adam-Lucas Pettit.

The big winner of the night was Krishan Solanki, who was named LSU's Most Outstanding Volunteer for 2010/11.

Label Online Content Editor Eddie White received the Multimedia Achievement Award, whilst Richard Douglas picked up the Action Lifetime Achievement Award.

When asked about the night, Head of Media Ben Croucher said: "LSU doesn't function without the immense dedication of the hundreds and thousands of volunteers that pass through our doors each year."

"Nights like tonight hopefully show the enormous gratitude that not only Adam and myself hold, but the appreciation of every member of the Exec and permanent staff members.

"The RAMS are always a stunning way to reflect on the year's achievements and it's only now that you can look back and think 'WOW – we really nailed it,'" he said.

2011/12 has the potential to build on the success of this year, a challenge that incoming Executive members Anie Davis and David Cox will no doubt relish.



Best Label Section – Design
Artisitic Merit Award – LSUTV Elections Candidate Introduction (Jack Connor Richards)
LCR Best On-Air Personality – Matt Peat
Best LSUTV Show – Freshers TV
Best Technical Achievement – Label Online
Best Label Article – Jago Pearson "Controversy Rocks Exec Elections"
Best LCR Show – Bedtimes with Ben & Friends
Best LSUTV On-Screen Personality – Chris Lloyd
Best Media Team – LCR Elections Team
Best Hall Media – Towers
Best Event – Exec Elections 2011
Best New Volunteer – Andrew Lawton
Multimedia Achievement Award – Eddie White

Best New Volunteer – Shauna Reid
Best New Hall Rep – James Clarke
Most Improved Volunteer – David Cox
Best Action Team – Special Events
Most Outstanding Contribution to the Community – Culture in the Community
Most Improved Hall – Rutherford
Project of the Year – Kids Camp
Most Outstanding Hall – Harry French
Best Section – Sports Action
Best Overall Volunteer – Billy Marsh
Lifetime Achievement Award – Richard Douglas

LSU Most Outstanding Volunteer – Krishan Solanki


To view photos from the night, click here


Comments are closed.