LSUTV are celebrating after equalling their most successful National Student TV Awards haul ever.

They secured top honours in 'Best Sport Programme' for Loughborough Gold and 'Best Live' for their coverage of the 2010 Dan James Memorial Match.


Presenters James Goldburn and Briony Lammas were runners-up in Best On-Screen Male and Female respectively, whilst there were also 2nd places for LSUTV's Title Sequence for On The Doors and The Browne Review Live Debate in the 'Best Factual' category.

The glamorous awards, hosted in Loughborough, are the culmination of a year's hard graft for the student TV volunteers and follows on from LCR's Silver Award for Best Station at the National Student Radio Awards.

Head of LSMedia, Ben Croucher told LABEL: "LSUTV have worked tirelessly over the last 12 months to deliver some of the highest quality student television in the country.

"A huge amount of credit must go to Corrina Stegner and James Goldburn, LSUTV Station Manager past and present, for their outstanding contribution to the media centre.

"I must congratulate every member of the LSUTV committee over the last year and indeed every volunteer who has helped carve another memorable achievement in the history of LSMedia."

The awards ceremony, broadcast live by LSUTV to over 200 viewers, took place in Piazza in a glamorous ceremony, hosted by Loughborough and LSUTV alumni Joe Tidy and Ore Oduba.

The BBC's Lisa Rogers and James Laidler were in attendance along with over 275 volunteers from student TV stations from across the country.

LSTV (Leeds) received the Best Broadcaster for the third consecutive year, and six other gongs, confirming their position as the best student TV station in the UK.

List of Winners

Best Ident: winner RU:ON, highly commended NTV

Best Video-to-Music: winner XTV, highly commended SUSUtv

Best Freshers’ Coverage: winner UniTV, highly commended LUST

Best Animation: winner Met TV, highly commended SUSUtv

Best Music Programme: winner LSTV, highly commended CUTV

Best Factual Programme: winner LSTV, highly commended LSUTV

Best Sport Programme: winner LSUTV, highly commended CUTV

Best Drama: winner SUSUtv, highly commended NUTS

Best Light Entertainment Programme: winner LSTV, highly commended STOIC TV and XTV

Best Station Marketing: winner LSTV, highly commended NUTS and SXTV

Best Comedy: winner SUSUtv, highly commended NTV

Best News Programme: winner Trent TV, highly commended QMTV

Open Category: winner LSTV, highly commended UniTV

Best Documentary: winner LSTV, highly commended Demon TV

Best Title Sequence: winner UniTV, highly commended LSUTV and STOIC TV

Best Live Programme: winner LSUTV, highly commended Warwick TV

Best Technical Achivement: winner YSTV, highly commended MADTV

Best On-Screen Female: winner Harriet Brampton (NUTS), highly commended Danielle Bevan-Jones (NTV) and Briony Lammas (LSUTV)

Best On-Screen Male: winner Chris Wells (Demon TV), highly commended James Goldburn (LSUTV)

Tim Marshall Award for Special Recognition: winner CUTV, highly commended NU:TV

Best Broadcaster: winner LSTV, highly commended YSTV


Comments are closed.