Over 290 Loughborough students descended on the EHB rubber crumb to take on the Leicester TAs gruelling assault course on their quest for Superstar glory.

The annual event saw Loughborough’s finest all-rounders, IMS stars and those brave enough to give it a go, diving under netting, carrying 20kg jerry cans and completing a tyre run against the clock.

This first event decided the 20 quickest men and women across campus that will go on to compete in multiple events next weekend.

The popular event carried an additional incentive for Loughborough’s halls, who competed for valuable IMS points. Points were awarded to the hall that brought the highest proportion of their students to the tough event.

Faraday snatched the points after bringing down a massive 22.9% of their hall to take part.

The quickest male time recorded all day was set by Daniel Heginbotham, clocking an impressive 1.36.97 minutes. AU presidential candidate Adam Rae couldn’t top last year’s success narrowly missing out after recording a 2.05.19 minute time.

The hotly contested female competition was topped by Molly Brammer setting the pace at 2.15.28. The top 20 athletes will go onto next weekend’s long jump, 50m swim, 1500m run, archery and football challenges.

The Superstars event will culminate at the last Hey Ewe before Easter as the final 4 will compete on stage to become Loughborough’s ultimate athlete.


Comments are closed.