The 2011 Athletics World Championships will take place in Daegu, South Korea between the 27th August and the 4th September. With this in mind, and the London 2012 Olympic Games now less than a year away, the UK Championships and UK Trials were always going to be a key event in the 2011 athletic season. Taking place in Birmingham, 72 Loughborough athletes, past and present, made the short trip to compete against the best athletes in the country.

A full list of the Loughborough athletes who have been selected for the 2011 World Championships in Daegu can be found at the bottom of the page.

It was a very successful meet for the Loughborough athletes with seven golds across six different events.

On the track, Jeanette Kwakye took gold in the 100m with a time of 11.23s, while in the men’s event it was Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (10.14s) who claimed silver behind Dwaine Chambers. Harry AA also made the finals of the 200m but was forced to withdraw.

Elsewhere in the sprints, there was a Loughborough one-two in the men’s 400m with Martyn Rooney’s season best of 45.44s pipping Chris Clarke’s season best of 45.61s. In the 400m hurdles, Nathan Woodward (49.66s), just returned from the U23 European Championships, finished 1st just ahead of Richard Davenport. Davenport who is currently coached by Loughborough’s Nick Dakin, finished 2nd in a personal best time of 49.76s.

Finally on the track, Loughborough alumni, Lisa Dobriskey finished 2nd in the women’s 1500m ahead of European 5000m bronze medal winner Stevie Stockton (5th). There were also personal bests for Dan Putnam in the 400m heat and Tom Doe in the 3k steeplechase.

Loughborough arguably saw even more success in the field events with impressive golds in the hammer (2), javelin and triple jump. Alex Smith’s personal best in the hammer saw him take gold and in the women’s Loughborough based Sophie Hitchon produced a throw of 65.63m to take gold ahead of Sarah Holt in 2nd.

Loughborough alumni Goldie Sayers took gold and her 13th national title in the javelin and Jen Pacey won the triple jump.

Alumni Robbie Grabbarz finished a commendable 3rd in the high jump with a personal best jump of 2.28m while there was also a PB of 8.04m for JJ Jegede in the long jump.


The following athletes have been selected to go to Daegu to represent Team GB:


Harry Aikines-Aryeetey 100m
Martyn Rooney 400m
William Sharman & Andy Turner 110m hurdles
Nathan Woodward 400m hurdles
Steve Lewis Pole Vault
Abdul Buhari Discus
Harry Aikines-Aryeetey & Craig Pickering 4x100m
Richard Buck, Chris Clarke & Martyn Rooney 4x400m


Jeanette Kwakye 100m & 4x100m
Lee McConnell & Nicola Sanders 400m & 4x400m
Lisa Dobriskey 1500m
Barbara Parker 3,000m Steeplechase
Kate Dennison Polevault
Goldie Sayers Javelin
Sophie Hitchon Hammer


Comments are closed.