LSU Media and our 4 sections have a long and proud history. There have been five different sections over the last 50 years, the oldest of which is Loughborough Campus Radio (started broadcasting officially as University Radio Loughborough in 1973), with Lens Photography as the newest section, established in 2014.

Below, you can take a look at every past Head of Media and Head of Section we have on record. As you can see, we’re missing some names – if you’ve got any information that might help us fill our gaps, please contact us!

Year Head of Media Label Editor
LCR Station Manager
Head of Lens LSUTV Station Manager Head of Loop Studios
1970-1971 N/A 1970: Broadcasting starts as Radio Mule N/A N/A N/A
1971-1972 N/A Adrian Bailey N/A N/A N/A
1972-1973 N/A Adrian Bailey N/A N/A N/A
1973-1974 N/A 1973: University Radio Loughborough Founded N/A N/A N/A
1974-1975 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1975-1976 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1976-1977 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1977-1978 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1978-1979 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1979-1980 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1980-1981 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1981-1982 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1982-1983 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1983-1984 N/A 1983: Renamed to Loughborough Campus Radio N/A N/A N/A
1984-1985 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1985-1986 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1986-1987 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1987-1988 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1988-1989 N/A N/A N/A N/A
1989-1990 N/A Doug Bustin N/A N/A N/A
1990-1991 N/A Martin Parker N/A N/A N/A
1991-1992 N/A Gareth Mercer N/A N/A N/A
1992-1993 N/A Emma Parkinson N/A N/A N/A
1993-1994 N/A Jenny Ardley N/A N/A N/A
1994-1995 N/A Louisa Allen Henry Wright N/A N/A N/A
1995-1996 N/A Emily Dubberley N/A N/A N/A
1996-1997 N/A Sarah Copley N/A N/A N/A
1997-1998 N/A 1997: The Newspaper renamed to Label Magazine
Claire Tomlin
1998-1999 N/A Toby Jones N/A N/A N/A
1999-2000 1999: Media Centre Opened
Amy Clarke
Matt Mabe N/A N/A N/A
2000-2001 Kate Cocker Rachel Perkins N/A N/A N/A
2001-2002 Lisa Cowie Matt Oakes Lynsey Hooper N/A 2001: LSUTV Founded N/A
2002-2003 Karlene Palmer Steve Todd Pat Charlton & Robin Webber-Jones N/A N/A
2003-2004 David Cohen & Lynsey Hooper Marc Burrows Lucy Pritchard N/A N/A
2004-2005 Lucy Pritchard Emma Hart Oli Folkerd N/A N/A
2005-2006 Anna Bowen Kelly Tarrant Sam Whelan N/A Rachel Evans N/A
2006-2007 Holly Saunders Emma Dalby-Bowler N/A Emma Dutton N/A
2007-2008 Joe Tidy Joe Tidy N/A Andy Clark N/A
2008-2009 Jon Naylor (Ore Oduba) Peter Washer N/A Rachel Vine N/A
2009-2010 James Spokoini Alex Neale Emily Funnell N/A Corrina Stegner N/A
2010-2011 Ben Croucher 2010: Label Online established
Francis Kelly
Anie Davies N/A James Goldburn 2010: Loop Studios Founded
Tom Ridley
2011-2012 Anie Davis Jago Pearson N/A Grace Weerakoon
2012-2013 Natasha Cox Grace Merritt Matt Peat N/A Connor Pearce
2013-2014 Helen Crossley Ella Stanbrook Luke Piazzon N/A Tom Traies Robb Puttock
2014-2015 Bryn Wilkes Louise Burt Harry Kimbling/Matt Parry 2014: Lens Founded
Isabella Piggott
Dan Leedham & Nina Blissett Robb Puttock
2015-2016 Bryn Wilkes Katie Wilson Paul Johnston Jasmine Jefferies Ryan Andrews Cameron Small
2015: Loop Studios Abolished
2016-2017 Jennifer ‘JT’ Taylor Leanna Kightley Tim Hunter Ushandan Kirupalaratnam Katie Greenslade N/A
2017-2018 Gafyn Donald Lydia Kah-Pavlou & Becky Gibbs Will Reynolds Ryan Dickinson Craig Searle N/A
2018-2019 Jasmine Jefferies Amie Woodyatt Lucie Lewis David Owens Tim McGovern N/A
2019-2020 Christopher Leroux 2019: Media Chair becomes voluntary Anna Cooper Will Reynolds Helena Lucas Joshua Gray N/A
2020-2021 Cameron Glenwright Emily Jackson Lucie Lewis Helen Forrest Ben Cooke N/A
2021-2022 No Chair Elected Emily Jackson Kate Thompson Cameron Glenwright Rachel Curtis N/A

You may have to rotate your device to view this table fully on mobile.

Help us Fill the Gaps

Got any information on the gaps in our history? Please let us know by contacting us!

Label / The Newspaper
  • Date The Newspaper was established
  • Early editors of The Newspaper until 1989
LCR / URL / Radio Mule
  • URL Station Managers 1973-1983
  • LCR Station Managers 1983-1994
  • LCR Station Managers 1995-2001
  • LCR Station Managers 2006-2009
  • LCR Station Manager 2011-2012
  • LSUTV Station Managers 2002-2005
Loop Studios / Aura Audio
  • History & Heads of Aura Audio pre-2010
  • Head of Loop Studios 2011-2013
Copyright © 2021 Loughborough Students' Union Media